Wearing a stranger

Ambgty51

Emerging from the shadows

Each day I have tried on a different person trying to find out who I really am. I’ve been trying for years. Now at last I’ve found him, and I have a different way of knowing.

It feels strange wearing a stranger for the first time, especially when he suddenly burst on the scene. Upheaval, not to mention mutual ignorance, has reigned; its unfamiliar robe has hung loose on the shoulders. This state of restlessness, innocence and ill-fitting affairs will last until the person adjusts the robe to fit and no longer becomes the stranger; but I will, or rather, the me that conformity has obliged me to wear all these years. True awareness alone will then reign.

In a world where conformity expects each of us to laugh and act like a clown even though beneath the mask we are wearing a frown, you can work out for yourself what this blog is about and possibly apply its introspection to yourself.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog

2 responses to “Wearing a stranger

  1. Ah yes, that stranger I know well from my own perspective. Self-knowledge is vital yet painful. The inscription “Know thyself” as depicted on the temple of Apollo at Delphi, has been, to me, a maxim to follow in order to achieve personal freedom. You could append to this fine guide, Socrates’ “The unexamined life is not worth living.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • And as Jung accurately observes: “Your visions will become clear only when you can look into your own heart. Who looks outside, dreams; who looks inside, awakes.”
      From my perspective the stranger has been asleep too long

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

